XWe have detected your location as outside the U.S/Canada, if you think this is wrong, you can choose your location.

Macmillan Higher Education Palgrave Higher Education

The Novels of Kazuo Ishiguro

ISBN 9780230517455
Publication Date December 2009
Formats Hardcover Paperback Ebook 
Publisher Palgrave
Series Readers' Guides to Essential Criticism

One of the most popular contemporary authors, Kazuo Ishiguro has so far produced six highly regarded novels which have won him international acclaim and honours, including the Booker Prize, the Whitbread Award and an OBE for Services to Literature.

This Reader's Guide:

• evaluates the various responses to Ishiguro's work, beginning with initial reactions, moving on to key scholarly criticism, and taking note along the way of what Ishiguro has offered
• discusses each of Ishiguro's novels, from A Pale View of the Hills (1982) to Never Let Me Go (2005)
• features three in-depth chapters on Ishiguro's Booker Prize-winning The Remains of the Day (1993)
• analyses reviews, interviews and scholarly essays and articles in order to situate the novels in the context of Ishiguro's ouevre
• explores themes and issues which are central to the author's fiction, such as narration, ethics and memory.

Lucid and insightful, this is an indispensable introductory guide for anyone studying – or simply interested in - the work of this major novelist.

MATTHEW BEEDHAM is Professor of English at Vancouver Island University, Canada.

Bad Memories: A Pale View of the Hills (1982)
A Troubled Artist's Art: An Artist of the Floating World (1987)
The Remains of the Day (1993): Reception and Narration
The Remains of the Day 2: Historical and Postcolonial Readings
Remains of the Day 3: Interdisciplinary Approaches
Who are The Unconsoled (1995) and Where Do They Live?
Detecting the Past: When We Were Orphans (2000)
Questioning the Possibles: Never Let Me Go (2005)
Select Bibliography


Add a review